Mar 19, 2018


TRUMBULL — GOP gubernatorial candidate and former Trumbull First Selectman Tim Herbst announced a new slate of endorsements Monday for the fifth consecutive week. The six new endorsements bring Herbst’s total roster of public support from current and former GOP officials, party leaders and party committees to 88.

“Our campaign continues to build momentum every day,” Herbst said. “Republicans from across Connecticut increasingly agree we simply must nominate a battle-tested candidate, with a track record of winning tough elections, and an outsider with a proven record of reform who will bring fundamental change to Hartford.”

Newington RTC Chair Domenic Pane

“Tim Herbst has a proven track record of reform in Trumbull, has demonstrated he can win tough elections and can be trusted to always put the next generation before the next election,” said Newington RTC Chair Domenic Pane. “Our state is ready for a new generation of leadership and that is why I support Tim Herbst for governor.”

Newington Mayor Roy Zartarian

“To turn things around in Hartford we need to elect a proven reformer with the backbone and vision to tackle Connecticut’s serious challenges head-on,” said Newington Mayor Roy Zartarian. “In Trumbull, Tim Herbst led an incredible turnaround that resulted in eight balanced budgets, a fully funded pension arc, a pro-business environment and a nationally ranked school system. Tim is the right choice to restore prosperity to Connecticut.”

Newington Town Attorney and RTC Member Ben Ancona

“If we are going to get different results from Hartford, we simply need to send a different kind of leader to Hartford,” said Newington Town Attorney and RTC Member Ben Ancona. “That is why we need Tim Herbst as our next governor. Tim is a battle-tested leader with a successful track record of tackling the tough issues in Trumbull and the only Republican candidate with the tenacity required to dismantle the status quo in Hartford.”

Herbst’s latest round of endorsements come one day after his campaign placed first, out of more than 13,000 total votes cast, in the first round of voting in the CTNewsJunkie March Madness straw poll for governor. Herbst garnered 25 percent of the total vote, defeating second-place finisher State Rep. Prasad Srinivasan by more than 800 votes, and third-place finisher Danbury Mayor Mark Boughton by 1,100 votes.

New Endorsements (6):

  • Newington Republican Town Committee
  • Newington RTC Chair Domenic Pane
  • Newington Mayor Roy Zartarian
  • Newington Town Attorney and RTC Member Ben Ancona
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Rick Constantini
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Member Scott Zimov

Previous Endorsements (82):

  • Republican Town Committee of Trumbull
  • Republican Town Committee of Putnam
  • State Rep. Greg Stokes, District 58
  • State Rep. Kevin Skulczyck, District 45
  • Former Middletown Mayor Seb Giuliano
  • North Haven First Selectman Mike Freda
  • Former Stamford Mayor Mike Pavia
  • Former Norwalk Mayor Dick Moccia
  • Former Bridgeport Mayor Mary Moran
  • Ansonia Mayor David Cassetti
  • Former Trumbull First Selectman Ken Halaby
  • Former Rocky Hill Mayor Henry Vasel
  • Former Easton First Selectman Thomas Herrmann
  • Former Groton Mayor Bruce Flax
  • Former Groton Mayor Jane Dauphinais
  • Former Clinton First Selectman Bruce Farmer
  • Former First Selectman of Clinton Virginia Zawoy
  • Clinton RTC Vice Chair Kim Neri
  • Former Plainfield Selectman Carol Anne Rowe
  • Former DEEP Commissioner and House Minority Whip Sid Holbrook
  • Former DEEP Commissioner Arthur J. Rocque
  • GOP State Central Committee Member and Cromwell Mayor Enzo Faienza, District 9
  • GOP State Central Committee Member and Trumbull Town Council Chairman Carl Massaro Jr., District 22
  • GOP State Central Committee Member and Plainfield RTC Chair Dan Gallant, District 18
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Patricia Fers, District 17
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Daniel Hetzel, District 18
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Robert Kolenberg, District 27
  • GOP State Central Committee Member William Jenkins, District 35
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Meg Cassanta, District 9
  • Enfield RTC Chair Mary Ann Turner
  • Stamford RTC Chair Fritz Blau
  • West Haven RTC Chair Michele Gregorio
  • Groton RTC Chair Constantine G. Antipas
  • Trumbull RTC Chair Vincent Fuimara
  • Putnam RTC Chair and Selectman Roy Simmons
  • Former Orange RTC Chair Vincent Marino
  • Former Milford RTC Chair Paul Beckwith
  • Westbrook Second Selectman John Hall
  • Ansonia Board of Alderman President Lorie Vaccaro
  • Berlin Town Council Member Alex Giannone
  • Stamford Board of Representatives Member Steven Kolenberg
  • Stamford Board of Representatives Member Kieran Ryan
  • Stamford Board of Finance Member Salvatore Gabriele
  • Former Stamford Board of Finance Member Joe Tarzia
  • Woodbridge Board of Selectman Member Joe Dey
  • Woodbridge Board of Finance Chairman Matthew Giglietti
  • Woodbridge Police Commissioner Stephen Falcigno Sr.
  • Former Woodbridge Registrar of Voters Loredana Falcigno
  • Windham Board of Education Member John French
  • Tolland RTC Co-Chair Barbara Dimauro
  • Former Avon Board of Zoning Appeals Member Steve Vicino
  • Tolland Town Council Member Tammy Nuccio
  • Tolland Town Council Member John Reagan
  • Tolland Board of Education Member Christina Plourd
  • Former Fairfield RTM Deputy Majority Leader Brian Farnen
  • Norwalk RTC Vice Chair John Romano
  • Fmr. Norwalk Council Candidate and RTC District D Vice Chair Mark Suda
  • Norwalk Police Benevolent Association President Marc Lepore
  • Former Norwalk Board of Education Candidate Marc D’Amelio
  • East Windsor RTC Chairman and Police Commission Chairman Bob Leach
  • Executive Director of East Windsor Chamber of Commerce and Former East Windsor Selectman Jim Richards
  • Former East Windsor Police Commissioner Peter Pippin
  • East Windsor Board of Finance Member Sarah Muska
  • East Windsor Board of Education Member Kathy Bilodeau
  • Trumbull Town Clerk Sue Burr Monaco
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Edna Colucci
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Paul Verbitsky
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Donna Seidell
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Lori Rosasco-Schwartz
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Chair Elaine Hammers
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Vice Chair William Haberlain
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Member Steve Choi
  • Trumbull Board of Education Chair Loretta Chory
  • Trumbull Board of Education Secretary Jackie Norcel
  • Trumbull Board of Education Member Marie Petitti
  • Trumbull Planning and Zoning Chairman David Preusch
  • Trumbull Planning and Zoning Member Larry LaConte, Sr.
  • Former Vice Chair of Trumbull Town Council Joe Pifko
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Mark Block
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Tony Scinto
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Matthew Caron
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Jeff Donofrio