Feb 26, 2018


TRUMBULL — GOP gubernatorial candidate and former Trumbull First Selectman Tim Herbst announced 16 new endorsements Monday from Republican municipal and party officials, bringing Herbst’s total number of endorsements from GOP leaders to 65.

“Our campaign to upend business-as-usual in Hartford and dismantle the job-crushing, tax-hiking status quo continues to gain momentum every day,” Herbst said. “Connecticut Republicans want to get behind a candidate who will take insiders in Hartford head-on and prosecute the case against Gov. Malloy’s chosen successor.”

Herbst’s campaign has picked up tremendous momentum in recent weeks. Herbst was the clear winner of the third GOP gubernatorial debate in West Haven, has earned endorsements from a total of 65 GOP leaders and announced last week he had surpassed the key $250,000 fundraising benchmark for gubernatorial candidates participating in the Citizens Election Program.

East Windsor RTC Chairman and Police Commission Chairman Bob Leach

“Tim Herbst is the only candidate with the tenacity needed to tackle reforms so desperately needed in our state,” Leach said. “Tim is a proven reformer, one who can and has produced results. He has a never give up approach and a relentless drive. While others tell you what you want to hear Tim tells it with brutal honesty. Tim Herbst is the leader we need, a leader ready to move Connecticut forward.”

Tolland RTC Co-Chair Barbara Dimauro

“Tim’s track record is impressive, but what has really made me a supporter is seeing his behavior on the campaign trail,” Dimauro said. “Tim is genuine. His hard work and desire to help others is evident in everything he does. He can relate to people from all regions of Connecticut and leads by example.”

“My experience with Tim has shown me that he is trustworthy and that he follows through on his words,” Dimauro continued, “He has an ease with people that other candidates can’t match. When you put together all of these personal qualities with his success as First Selectman in Trumbull, it is clear that Tim Herbst is an excellent candidate for Governor.”

New Endorsements (16):

  • Former Groton Mayor Bruce Flax
  • Former Groton Mayor Jane Dauphinais
  • Tolland RTC Co-Chair Barbara Dimauro
  • Tolland Town Council Member Tammy Nuccio
  • East Windsor RTC Chairman and Police Commission Chairman Bob Leach
  • Executive Director of East Windsor Chamber of Commerce and Former East Windsor Selectman Jim Richards
  • Former East Windsor Police Commissioner Peter Pippin
  • Former First Selectman of Clinton Virginia Zawoy
  • Clinton RTC Vice Chair Kim Neri
  • Former Plainfield Selectman Carol Anne Rowe
  • Fmr. Norwalk Council Candidate and RTC District D Vice Chair Mark Suda
  • Norwalk Police Benevolent Association President Marc Lepore
  • Trumbull Town Clerk Sue Burr Monaco
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Jeff Donofrio
  • Trumbull Planning and Zoning Chairman David Preusch
  • Trumbull Board of Education Secretary Jackie Norcel

Previous Endorsements (49):

  • Republican Town Committee of Trumbull
  • Republican Town Committee of Putnam
  • State Rep. Greg Stokes, District 58
  • North Haven First Selectman Mike Freda
  • Former Stamford Mayor Mike Pavia
  • Former Norwalk Mayor Dick Moccia
  • Former Bridgeport Mayor Mary Moran
  • Ansonia Mayor David Cassetti
  • Former Trumbull First Selectman Ken Halaby
  • Former Rocky Hill Mayor Henry Vasel
  • Former Easton First Selectman Thomas Herrmann
  • Former Clinton First Selectman Bruce Farmer
  • GOP State Central Committee Member and Cromwell Mayor Enzo Faienza, District 9
  • GOP State Central Committee Member and Trumbull Town Council Chairman Carl Massaro Jr., District 22
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Patricia Fers, District 17
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Daniel Hetzel, District 18
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Robert Kolenberg, District 27
  • GOP State Central Committee Member William Jenkins, District 35
  • GOP State Central Committee Member Meg Cassanta, District 9
  • West Haven RTC Chair Michele Gregorio
  • Groton RTC Chair Constantine G. Antipas
  • Trumbull RTC Chair Vincent Fuimara
  • Putnam RTC Chair and Selectman Roy Simmons
  • Ansonia Board of Alderman President Lorie Vaccaro
  • Berlin Town Council Member Alex Giannone
  • Stamford Board of Representatives Member Steven Kolenberg
  • Stamford Board of Representatives Member Kieran Ryan
  • Stamford Board of Finance Member Salvatore Gabriele
  • Woodbridge Board of Selectman Member Joe Dey
  • Woodbridge Board of Finance Chairman Matthew Giglietti
  • Woodbridge Police Commissioner Stephen Falcigno Sr.
  • Former Woodbridge Registrar of Voters Loredana Falcigno
  • Tolland Board of Education Member Christina Plourd
  • Former Fairfield RTM Deputy Majority Leader Brian Farnen
  • Norwalk RTC Vice Chair John Romano
  • East Windsor Board of Finance Member Sarah Muska
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Edna Colucci
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Paul Verbitsky
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Donna Seidell
  • Trumbull Town Council Member Lori Rosasco-Schwartz
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Chair Elaine Hammers
  • Trumbull Board of Finance Vice Chair William Haberlain
  • Trumbull Board of Education Chair Loretta Chory
  • Trumbull Board of Education Member Marie Petitti
  • Trumbull Planning and Zoning Commission Member Larry LaConte, Sr.
  • Former Vice Chair of Trumbull Town Council Joe Pifko
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Mark Block
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Tony Scinto
  • Former Member of Trumbull Town Council Matthew Caron